The month of May is just started. In such a case, we must all be aware of the list of bank holidays.


Even though almost every banking service is now available online and digitally, it is still necessary to visit a bank for many tasks. In this situation, we must stay up to speed on banking holidays. So that we may avoid having to go to the bank.

How many days will the bank remain closed in May?

In May, the bank will be closed for 12 days on various occasions. This includes every Sunday as well as every second and fourth Saturday holiday. In addition, banks will be closed in May on Maharashtra Day, Maharana Pratap Jayanti, Buddha Purnima, and other special days. This holiday will be celebrated on different days in different time zones. Let's have a look at the calendar of bank holidays.

Banks will be closed on these events in May.

The first banking holiday will take place exclusively on May 1. On May 1, Belapur, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai, Guwahati, Kolkata, Kochi, Nagpur, Mumbai, Panaji, Patna, and Trivandrum will have bank holidays to commemorate Maharashtra Day and Labour Day.


The following holiday will be on May 5. On the occasion of Buddha Purnima, banks in Agartala, Aizawl, Belapur, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Kolkata, Mumbai, Dehradun, Jammu, Kanpur, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Shimla, and Srinagar would not be closed on May 5. Following that, on Sunday, May 7, all banks in the country will be closed.

Banks will also remain closed on these days.

Following that, on May 9, the birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore, the banks in the Kolkata zone will remain closed. Due to the second Saturday in May, banks will be closed nationwide. All banks in the country will be closed on Sunday, May 14. Banks in Sikkim will be closed on May 16 in observance of Statehood Day. Banks will be closed on May 21 due to the Sunday holiday.